Day 41: Danville, IL

Heylo!

…riding the wave that is cross-continental travel by bicycle.. Today’s been a day that felt like I wasn’t the one pushing forward at all, I was just following the current.

20110807-124051.jpg

Today’s stats:
Departure: Le Roy, IL @ 6:45am
Arrival: Danville, IL @ 3:45pm
Distance: 75 miles
Counties travelled through: 3 or 4
Flats today: 0
Weather: tailwind and cool and overcast
Total number of wheels travelled on today: 10
Miles away from a new time zone and state: less than 1

Today’s ride and experiences was as usual, very fun and enjoyable. Here’s the shortest summary possible: tailwind, overcast, Cool, met people, skating.

Once again, thank you to Kathy who gave me a place to stay last night! In the morning, I got a big hug, and was off with one destination in mind: Indiana. I headed down US 150 east, and rode through towns like St Joseph, Champaign, and Urbania. When I set off, it was early, cool, and quite foggy. Foggy enough, in fact, that I decided to switch on my Princeton Tec rear blinker, and hope trucks behind me noticed it in time. Definitely a new weather feature to add to my list! Not quite as crazy as mL-size hail or lightning on the plateaus in Utah, but nonetheless, notable.

But I could hardly complain. I had a weak tailwind for the entire trip! This made me nice and speedy, and left me to simply ponder lots of things while I rode. Things like, ‘am I accomplishing my mission to the fullest extent?’ and ‘am I ready to get back to my classroom? Is it ready for ME?’ Along today’s ride, I stopped a good bit, and met a bunch of people and told them what I’m doing. I love smiles. Can you tell? Nice to meet you, Jerry, Stacy, and the bunch of other people I met on the roads!

I made it to the easternmost town along 150 in Illinois by 3:45, and stopped at a dairy queen to catch myself up. I realized, I will make it to Pittsburgh by Thursday evening if I keep up this pace! Not necessary at all though. Instead, I can hope to spend time speaking with people talking about brain injury in the major towns in the upcoming 2 states. So I decided to relax and let fate happen, in Danville.

And it did. I had stopped at a picnic bench on the outskirts of Danville, outside the Illini Skateland rink and was just twiddling on my phone when a young woman walked up to me and handed me an ice-pop. Yes! I told my new friend, Abby, how I loved to skate and almost immediately, she invited me to skate at the rink. I of course said, “absolutely!”.

For the next 5 hours, I skated, talked, goofed around, ate, and made new friends at the rink. Totally fun. I ended up staying there, in my raisin hope
Jersey and pants, until 11pm. If you’re ever in Danville IL, be sure to rent some roller- or inline skates and ride the smooth wooden rink. Trust me, it’s addicting. Added benefit: everyone there is super-friendly. Here’s my new crew of Danville skateland friends:

20110807-014313.jpg

Here’s how I felt about it:

Now…. Freeze! Please keep Danville teenager Logan Cudney in your thoughts. On July 25, he was involved in a car crash that left another teenager dead, and he remains in critical condition… In a coma from an open head injury. Let’s all raise hope and make it so that he recovers as fully as possible.

Why aren’t I in Indiana? I couldnt say goodby to my Danville crew until 10pm. So, i found a place to sleep on :this: side of the state line. Thanks for reading! Tomorrow: to Indianapolis I go! 83 miles!

-Doug

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 41: Danville, IL

  1. Markgraf says:

    I’m sorry I mispronounced Illini in the video!

  2. It was VERY nice to meet you too!! (I was the cashier at Caseys in Oakwood, IL). I could have sat and talked with you for hours but I had to please my customers. =] … I think it’s amazing what you are doing and keep pedaling and inspiring people to conquer the unthinkable!! Be safe out there!

  3. Looks like you’re the only one on the rink! Glad you had a great time!! πŸ™‚

  4. Stacey Lomax says:

    You story has me so obsessed!! I have checked this site multiple times today! Be safe out there and keep inspiring people! =]

  5. Steph says:

    Awesome! Must have been weird rolling around on such small wheels πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

