Day 14: Orem, UT

Hey everyone,

I’m not entirely sure what to classify this day as.. It was by most accounts a success, but nearly every part was a bit confused.

I’ve got to keep this to-the-point, as my phone’s very low on battery.

Mileage: 70
Time on bike: probably 7 hours
Flats: 0
Terrain: rolling hills
Weather: unpredictable!

I woke up on a lawn and was on the bike by 9am. You know, it’s very strange that I can’t get on the road at a standard time. But, I did start my day thinking itd be easy.. Was it? Heck no! At least I wasn’t on a freeway.

I ended up taking a very backwards route to the Provo area. I did this because I am very sick of route 80. Issue with this route? Very roundabout.. At points, I was headed southeast or south! My end vector was east, and that’s the way the wind was blowing.

And blow it did- I spent the first maybe 2.5 hrs fighting a headwind at 6 mph- no fun. All I had to motivate me was, “the next towns coming soon, and this one has a convenience store!” (this wasn’t usually true either). I stopped quite often.

So yes, headwinds. But also, I had four rainstorms hit me along my way. This was of course aided by the lake effect, what with the great salt lake being so close. And from the photos, I think you could see that I spent the day going. “I better not ride :into: that…”. But still, being cold and wet is nice for a change.

I hope I don’t wake up cold and wet.. I finally got forced to set up the tent in the pouring rain here in Orem.. The hotels were way out of a reasonable range, price wise! So I’m set up in a business park, behind a big bush. Everything’s wet. But, I’m a trooper! I like when the odds are against me. Or at least I like beating those odds, you know?

Traumatic brain injury is all about odds and predictions. As soon as you hurt your brain, doctors will tell family just that- They might say, “he/she has a good chance at assisted living…” or “now, if things don’t improve, should we make plans for organ donation?” Seriously. TBI isn’t a fun journey. Perhaps neither is riding a bicycle over the Rocky Mtns too.. But we should be prepped for both situations! It’s a shame I can’t have you to joke around with along the way.

Tomorrow, I’ll be meeting members of the tbi support group of Provo, UT! I can’t wait to meet them. I know that it will be a fair trade; my hope and strength for their optimism and smiles. I’ll definitely let you know how it goes.

Rest. I need it! And food!

The first installment of the DougTrails donors’ photos:

20110710-104559.jpg

Your name can still be placed on my frame! Just click the gofundme.com or Donate links in the top right con
Energy of this page.

Seeya tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

