Philadelphia Marathon Race Report / Summary

Hi Everyone,

After having read the awesome race report that my hero, Joe, wrote about his finishing the full marathon as well, I finally got motivated to write mine. After all, we know that all adventures are doomed to be forgotten without some sort of a follow-up description… Here’s mine, if you’re curious.

I’m not entirely sure exactly how to start my report! If I had to name just one over-arching theme of the marathon, it’d probably be, simply, the word ‘solo’. I was very solo.

I woke up around 5:30am that day, and was rarin’ to go! The night before, I had gotten all the stuff I thought I needed all lined up and ready to quickly change into, eat, do, and then leave. So I did that. Then, I hopped on my commuter/touring bike with my spare clothes on to keep me warm, and was off. But! I realized, a mile down the road, that I had forgotten to put on my Garmin gps watch, which was needed to help me keep perfect pace! Fortunately, I had plenty of time, so I steered ’round and recovered it easily at my apartment, which (might I add) it pretty much on the course.

The overall description of my race: mainly just survival. Feel free to follow along with my synopsis along my Garmin Connect Stats, too. Here we go:

My bib number was 904 – very small! I registered with hopes of finishing in 3:10, so I was put in the first corral. This was really fun. I started the marathon and decided that I’d try to keep up with the 3:10 pace leader for as long as possible. Now, I should mention here that my plan for the marathon was to keep my first 3 miles at an 8-min pace, so that I could be sure not to injure myself (which usually happens in the first 3 miles). So, running at the 7-min pace was well, really risking things!

For the first 12ish miles, I kept up with the 3:10 pace leader, which felt so amazing. Often, we’d be running at closer to a 6:30 pace, which was great. But, the hills came (at 34th street and then heading up to memorial hall) and I had a very difficult time keeping up with the pace. So by the time I was headed down to west river drive to finish out the 13 miles, I had begun to drop my pace to about 8:30. Alll alone by this point.

I didn’t ever have a problem with my ankles or with temperature or anything else. That was really great! But, what I did have problems with was keeping up a fast speed, past the point when I had finished with the hills. SO, I just chugged along at my own pace, got passed a lot, but kept running.

By the time I was at mile 18, I was really feeling things. I wanted to stop or take a break by that point, but instead chose to use other means of motivating myself: food! I had become very hungry and was picturing myself eating all kinds of things. I could taste the gel packs in my mouth from miles before those stations!

In manayunk, around mile 19-22, I was running but walking up the hilly portions for no longer than a minute. And when I got to water stations, I would get a water, stop after the table, drink it, and then get back to running. While in manayunk, I actually managed to get a mini-cup of lager and a bag of snyders thin pretzels! As soon as I left manayunk though, the eating was over. :)

The final stretch, down Kelly drive, was hard. But, not as hard as the way to Manayunk, because I kept close to the middle. While I ran at my slow pace, I would cheer on the people who were headed the other direction! This made me think less about my own pain, which was nice.

I made it to the final stretch where I could see the finish line and by that point, I had trouble just managing to keep running instead of walking! My savior just a half mile from the finish? Someone was giving out gummy bears! So in that final bit, I was happily chomping down candy. And I finished the race running.

Nother final tidbit: I got a high five from Mayor Nutter at the finish line. That’s really swell that he does that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Philadelphia Marathon Race Report / Summary

  1. Oh wow, that is really awesome that Nutter does that. Good post, very interesting your breakdown of the miles. :-)

Leave a Reply

